Elixir Bound Blog Tour BannerKatieLCarroll

strong>a GREAT BIG WELCOME TO KATIE CARROLL

Katie L. Carroll began writing at a very sad time in her life after her 16-year-old sister, Kylene, unexpectedly passed away. Since then writing has taken her to many wonderful places, real and imagined. She wrote Elixir Bound and the forthcoming Elixir Saved so Kylene could live on in the pages of a book. Katie is also the author of the picture app The Bedtime Knight and an editor for MuseItUp Publishing. She lives not too far from the beach in a small Connecticut city with her husband and son. For more about Katie, visit her website at http://www.katielcarroll.com.

Now I’ve introduced you to Katie, let’s find out a little more about her, shall we?

How long have you been writing?

Well, I’ve been writing since I could pick up a crayon. My family and I used to write and illustrate (purely for our own enjoyment) stories about Sam the Billy Goat. In the very first one Sam helps a little girl get a kite out of tree. How did he do that? He can fly, of course! In every book there was a point where Sam would have to fly to save the day, and in the story it would say, “And voop whoosh up went the Billy Goat.”

What made you finally decide to get serious about writing?

When I was 19 and a sophomore in college, my 16-year-old sister unexpectedly passed away. I went through a whole period of reevaluating what I wanted to do with my life and came out the other end wanting to write novels. Later I would figure out I wanted to write books for teens and kids.

Describe what you consider your ideal writing conditions.

Really just my laptop and a nice view, whether that be the friendly visitors on the butterfly bush in my backyard, the ocean, or the view from the window outside my local café.

Describe your rituals for preparing to write.

I usually go back and read the last few pages of the manuscript I’m working on and then I’m off. I like to have a hot cup of tea and maybe a sweet snack at arm’s reach. Music optional, depending on my mood.

How often do you write?

I write pretty much every day, but not always on my WIP. I have an active blog that keeps me busy (and sane because it’s the place I go to think “out loud” about things) and I’m an editor, so I’m often commenting on other people’s manuscripts. As for writing on my mss, I try to get in a couple hours a couple days a week.

Are you a plotter, a pantser or some combination of both?

Hmmm…I guess a bit of both. I’m a very plot driven writer, so the main plot tends to work itself out in my head before I even begin writing a piece. (I like to think about a story for awhile before I put anything down on paper or in my computer.) For most stories, I don’t write out the plot in any form…it just sits there in my head. And things often change while I’m writing as the finer points of the plot work itself out.

Name one of your all-time favorite movies, the one you instantly recognize when it flashes across the screen, the one you stop and watch no matter how many times you’ve seen it.

I’d have to say The Shawshank Redemption. It tends to be on the cable channels a lot and I always stop to watch it.

Describe one of your favorite characters and tell us who you patterned them after and why.

Oh, they’re all my favorite characters…even the villainous ones! But if I had to pick one to mention, it would be Kylene. She is named after my sister and based on her as well. I tried to write Elixir Bound from her point of view originally, but it was too hard. I think it was too soon after her death when I was first writing it.

Where do you go for inspiration?

Anywhere and everywhere! Really, the whole world is full of it for me. From my 2-year-old son, to a song, to my dreams, to a scene from nature, to an overheard conversation. It’s all gold to this writer!

Name an author or authors who never fail to inspire you.

J.K. Rowling (haven’t read any of her adult books yet, but the Harry Potter books I read again and again for inspiration), Kristin Cashore, Suzanne Collins, Tamorea Pierce, J.R.R. Tolkien, C.S. Lewis…lots of fantasy writers. For some contemporary writers I turn to John Green, Jandy Nelson, and Melina Marchetta (who does both contemporary and fantasy).

Tell us about your current WIP.

Elixir Saved is a companion novel (not really a sequel) to Elixir Bound. It does feature Kylene as one of the point of view characters. Notice I said “one of” because there are two, yes two, other point of view characters. Here’s the working tagline: “Kylene, Zelenka, and Devon have each been saved by the Elixir, and now they must decide how much they are willing to sacrifice with their second chances at life.”

Elixir_Bound_300dpi

Elixir Bound blurb:

Katora Kase is next in line to take over as guardian to a secret and powerful healing Elixir. Now she must journey into the wilds of Faway Forest to find the ingredient that gives the Elixir its potency. Even though she has her sister and brother, an old family friend, and the handsome son of a mapmaker as companions, she feels alone.

It is her decision alone whether or not to bind herself to the Elixir to serve and protect it until it chooses a new guardian. The forest hosts many dangers, including wicked beings that will stop at nothing to gain power, but the biggest danger Katora may face is whether or not to open up her heart to love.

Buy Links:

MuseItUp – https://museituppublishing.com/bookstore/index.php/young-adult/ya-fantasy/elixir-bound-detail

Amazon – http://www.amazon.com/Elixir-Bound-ebook/dp/B0093CL4OM/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1375212370&sr=8-1&keywords=elixir+Bound

Barnes & Noble – http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/elixir-bound-katie-l-carroll/1113575170?ean=2940045014328

Smashwords – http://www.smashwords.com/books/view/240854

iBooks – https://itunes.apple.com/us/book/elixir-bound/id567647311?mt=11

Katie, it’s been a pleasure to have you here today. I wish you great success.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

