Tags

, , , , , ,

October is a Rare Month

It’s Autumn. My favorite time of the year. The end of September brings a subtle change in the weather and by the time October rolls around, we may have already had our first cold front. I can’t wait. Early morning and late evening I begin to notice a chill in the air. The sun goes down earlier.

I can wear something besides summer clothes and not worry about having a heat stroke. In Texas, we’ve our first cool spell of the season. At night, there’s a slight chill in the air, rich with the scent of damp earth and burning leaves. The sky has turned a richer shade of blue, and I see pumpkins, mums in fall colors and scarecrows.

I feel the urge to cook stews and soups, bake gingerbread and pull out the sweaters and blankets. My husband is always thrilled because after a summer of not wanting to cook, I’m finally back in the mood. I’ll have to admit there is nothing better than the aroma of a hearty pot of soup bubbling on the back of the stove, unless it’s bread rising or something sweet baking in the oven. Just thinking about it makes my mouth water.

Yesterday I joined him when he went for his daily walk. Our route took us on a scenic tour around our small town and down side streets. It was Sunday afternoon quiet with a cool breeze blowing. I loved it.

The month is gearing up, and as always it’s a busy one. Our anniversary was the third. There are five birthdays this month (three on one day), football games, Autumn Trails activities (more on this later) and Halloween, not to mention my son’s wedding in November.

