Tags

, , , , ,

Roman Phalera 600dpi Cover Image

On Sunday, December 14th, Robbi Perna and I are doing a blog swap. You’ll be able to read all about this fascinating lady. In the meantime, I thought you’d like a preview of what’s to come.

I just finished reading her latest book, The Roman Phalera. It’s my first book by this author, but it won’t be the last. She begins the story by describing a family vineyard in California through the eyes of Carlo Cavaleri, one of the owners’ sons. I immediately found myself in the story—seeing, hearing, smelling, everything Ms. Perna pointed out.

It explores the bond that exists between brothers whose connection is even stronger than usual, because they are twins. It was very touching to see it unfold. The brothers share a sixth sense about each other which causes Carlo’s near death when his brother, Paolo meets an untimely end. In the following weeks, Carlo is lost and does not want to go on living without his brother, when a strange dream and a trip to Rome begin to bring things into perspective.

While I’m not usually a fan of contemporary books, I found this one to be a unique blend of history, romance and the paranormal, and the unexpected surprise at the end put a neat twist on the story.

