Tags

, , , ,

My guest author today is J. Q. Rose. And if the title to today’s interview didn’t grab your attention, then check out the photo of her in the little red convertible below. Woohoo!!

But don’t stop there. Read on to find out more about this lovely lady.

J Q Rose

After writing feature articles in magazines, newspapers, and online magazines for over fifteen years, J.Q. Rose entered the world of fiction. Her published mysteries are Sunshine Boulevard, and Coda to Murder released by Muse It Up Publishing. With her non-fiction book for girls, Girls Succeed!, she returns to her first love, writing about real people. Blogging, photography, Pegs and Jokers board games, and travel are the things that keep her out of trouble. She spends winters in Florida and summers up north camping and hunting toads, frogs, and salamanders with her four grandsons and granddaughter.

Coda To Murder 333x500

Pastor Christine Hobbs never imagined she would be caring for a flock that includes a pig, a kangaroo, and a murderer.

Here’s a little teaser for Coda To Murder: Pastor Christine Hobbs has been in the pulpit business for over five years. She never imagined herself caring for a flock that includes a pig, a kangaroo, and a murderer.

Detective Cole Stephens doesn’t want the pretty pastor to get away with murdering the church music director. His investigative methods infuriate Christine as much as his deep brown eyes attract her.

Can they find the real killer and build a loving relationship based on trust?
Now we come to the part of the interview I love. I get to pick J.Q.’s brain and find out all kinds of different things about her, things I might not learn from reading her bio. J. Q. will you describe what you consider your ideal writing conditions.A sunny day, a quiet time with no one in the house, no one outdoors mowing the lawn or grinding-gear garbage trucks on the street, cool enough that I need my old tattered flannel shirt to keep me cozy, freshly trimmed nails, cup of coffee or tea (I’m trying to keep a cup of water on my desk to sip to alleviate caffeine), Facebook and email done, my desk chair adjusted to the correct height, and laptop works with no hiccups.I’ve heard a lot of authors say they need quiet. I don’t mind background noise as long as it stays in the background. 

Name a book/author you can read again and again and always learn something new.

Stephen King’s On Writing Not crazy about his auto biography but the information “on writing” is inspiring, practical, and presented in his tell-it-like-it-is style.

I’ve read On Writing as well, and I agree.

Can you tell us a little about your current WIP?

I’m having so much fun creating a mystery/romance/paranormal. Yes, that’s a LOT of genres to juggle in one book. My main character, Lauren, is the daughter of a funeral home director, like me. She has to return home to help in the business and to help care for her mother with Alzheimer’s disease. We all know there are dead bodies at a funeral home, but the body of a murdered man is dropped off in the funeral home garage. At least they picked the right funeral home because Swartz across town does a terrible job of embalming. Besides worrying about her mother, the police investigation into the murder targeting Lauren and her family as suspects, a shadow man keeps interfering in her life. See what I mean? A lot of genres and I haven’t even mentioned the romance yet!

Now this sounds intriguing. No wonder you need for it to be quiet when you write. Your mind is going a hundred different directions!

 

As authors, we all need to feel as though our writing is ‘reaching’ our readers. Tell me, what is the best compliment you ever received as an author?

A reviewer who mentioned she enjoyed the “gentle love story within the murder mystery” said the following about Coda to Murder—“I can honestly say that I was completely surprised by the final unmasking of the killer, who had me fooled along with everyone else.” The mystery writer within me jumped for joy because the twist at the end that surprises the reader is my goal.

Wow, that’s fantastic.

Now, Describe one of your favorite characters and tell us who you patterned them after and why. I had a great time writing Gloria Hart. She is the main character in my mystery/horror novella, Sunshine Boulevard. Gloria is the essence of all the ladies who live in my Senior Community. I was able to exaggerate the characteristics of women past 60 to make her fun and interesting. Trying to keep healthy, being in a long time marriage where she and her husband, Jim, know each other so well, caring so much about people in her community and always believing in the good part of people were just some of her traits I wove into the story.

I’m like you. I love to incorporate real ‘characters’ into my stories.

Here’s a fun question. What is something we’ll never catch you doing?

You’ll never catch me eating shrimp. I was raised in Central lllinois—miles away from shrimp beds. (Now I hear there are shrimp farms though that could be “farmed” in that area.) I am just learning to like fish, but it has to have lots of batter on it and slathered with tartar sauce before I’ll taste it.

 

Last, but no least. What is the one thing you never seem to have enough time for?

The easiest question to answer—Reading. So many books. I used to only read one book at a time. But nowadays I seem to have two or three going at the same time.

I hear you!

     One of you lucky people can win a copy of Coda To Murder in your preferred format. All you have to do is leave a comment and include your email address. Good luck! J. Q. it’s been wonderful having you here today. Guys, to find out more about J. Q. Rose, go here:

http://tinyurl.com/aeuv4m4

Blog http://www.jqrose.com/

Email jqrose02@gmail.com

Buy links Amazon.com http://tinyurl.com/ap376tb

MuseItUp Publishing http://museituppublishing.com/bookstore/index.php/now-available-in-ebook/coda-to-murder-detail

B&N.com and major online booksellers

 

