Tags

, , ,

Kevin Hopson Kevin Hopson, Author

Today I’m pleased to be hosting Kevin Hopson, fellow MuseItUp author. Kevin is a busy man. He’s done freelance writing, written several novels and is a stay-at-home dad to a toddler. He’s going to give us a little insight on his methods for juggling all his jobs.

Prior to hitting the fiction scene in 2009, Kevin was a freelance writer for several years, covering everything from finance to sports. His debut work, World of Ash, was released by MuseItUp Publishing in the fall of 2010. Kevin has released several other books through MuseItUp since then, and he has also been published in various magazines and anthology books. Kevin’s writing covers many genres, including dark fiction and horror, science fiction and fantasy, and crime fiction.

The Fire King

Below is an excerpt from Kevin’s latest book, The Fire King. Don’t you love the cover? It would certainly interest me in picking it up to read.

“I say we kill every human left.” Hirador exhaled, his red chest expanding as a stream of air exited the dragon’s nostrils.

“You would,” Mianth said. She attempted to make eye contact with her brother, but Hirador continued to gaze in the other direction. The frigid conditions only made his displeasure more obvious to her. Water vapor immediately turned to fog upon each of his breaths, which were becoming more frequent.

“One man did this,” a male voice said from behind. “You know better than to put the blame on all of them.” He paused. “Then again, you’ll always find a reason to wage war against humanity.”

Mianth turned to look at her other brother. Tulvir’s yellow eyes glowed, and snow began to cover the green scales along the top of his head. “He’s right,” she said.

“Imagine that,” Hirador snorted. “The two of you are in agreement. As always, you’re so quick to judge.”

Mianth shifted her focus to Hirador. “Maybe,” she replied, “but we know how you think. We can’t afford to do anything rash.”

“Regardless,” the red dragon said, “time is something that eludes us. The swarm is moving west, and we have no choice but to make haste.”

And now we get to the part of the interview I enjoy the most. Let’s find out some things about Kevin you wouldn’t ordinarily read in a bio. Describe what you consider your ideal writing conditions.

Peace and quiet! Ha-ha. I’m a stay-at-home dad (have a toddler), so it can be very challenging to write at times. I’m most productive in the morning so if I can find the time to write early in the day, without any other obligations, it’s an ideal situation for me.

This is something I can relate to. When my kids were little it was always a toss up at naptime. Do I tackle something creative or say the heck with it and try to nap while they do?

When you write, are you a plotter, a pantser or some combination of both?

I’m probably a combination of both. I might outline to some extent but rarely do I plot out an entire story. I love the spontaneity of writing. By not being confined, I find that my stories take unexpected turns and flow more naturally.

I completely agree. I have a vague outline and a working synopsis to keep me from getting lost. Much more and my imagination suffers.

Where do you go for inspiration?

This is such a difficult question to answer because so many things inspire me. In fact, I could say that life inspires me. Traveling, reading, and movie watching are just a few things that offer inspiration, but sometimes I find it in the oddest places without even looking for it.

Let your mind wander and who knows what will happen.

Tell us about your current WIP.

I’m currently working on a spin-off/prequel to The Fire King, which focuses on the earlier years of Modrad the dwarf.

What is something we’ll never catch you doing?

You’ll never catch me skydiving, base jumping or doing anything involving heights. I’m petrified of heights. When I visited Paris, I wouldn’t even go to the top of the Eiffel Tower.

Heights bother me too, but I usually find something to hang on to and do it anyway. 

What is something you’ve always wanted to do but don’t have the nerve?

This is going to sound crazy but getting a massage. Despite being in good shape, I’m a very self-conscious person. I could really use a massage. It’s too bad my paranoia outweighs my desire to get one.

I was skeptical about them until I got one….oh. my. goodness. All I can say is a good masseuse is an author’s best friend! Mine is on speed dial!

Thanks for joining me today, and good luck on your books. To find out more about Kevin Hopson, go to:

Blog – http://kevin-hopson.blogspot.com

Email – kevnessky@gmail.com

Buy links:

https://museituppublishing.com/bookstore/index.php/young-adult/ya-fantasy/the-fire-king-detail

http://www.amazon.com/s/ref=ntt_athr_dp_sr_1?_encoding=UTF8&field-author=Kevin%20Hopson&search-alias=books&sort=relevancerank

http://museituppublishing.com/bookstore/index.php/our-authors/58-our-authors/authors-h/254-kevin-hopson

http://www.barnesandnoble.com/s/kevin-hopson?store=book&keyword=kevin+hopson

