Tags

, ,

IMG_9855

My favorite time of the year. The end of September brings a subtle change in the weather and by the time October rolls around, we may have already had our first cold front.  I can’t wait.  Early morning and late evening I begin to notice a chill in the air.  The sun goes down earlier. I’m ready to start wearing fall colors and begin to think about digging out our winter clothes and changing to heavier bedding.

My husband is always thrilled because after a summer of not wanting to cook, I’m finally back in the mood. I’ll have to admit there is nothing better than the aroma of a hearty pot of soup bubbling on the back of the stove, unless it’s bread rising or something sweet baking in the oven. Just thinking about it makes my mouth water.IMG_9856

The month is gearing up, and as always it’s a busy one. Our anniversary was the third. There are five birthdays this month (three on one day). We’ve been watching one of the grandsons play soccer, one of the granddaughters play in the high school band at football games. There’s Autumn Trails activities and Halloween to come. In a couple of weeks we plan a trip south to Texas hill country to see another grandson play football and another granddaughter play volleyball. Go Grandkids!!

Every year in October the little town in northeast Texas where I live holds a month long celebration with activities every weekend. People from all over east Texas attend. Families arrive early to spend the day and visit, just like they did at county fairs years ago. The entire town is decorated.  Pumpkins and gourds, all shapes and sizes, gorgeous mums in every autumn color imaginable perch on hay bales beside scarecrows or in wheelbarrows or wagons. They grace porches, yards and even storefronts downtown. IMG_9858

Last weekend was our annual Arts and Crafts Show in City Park and downtown.  For those not used to life in a small town, it’s an experience.  People parked their cars at the old train depot (which now houses the Chamber of Commerce) and walked across the street to vendors’ exhibits. The weather was great and my daughter and I snagged some goodies.

Doesn’t my little pumpkin figure look like something from The Nightmare Before Christmas? And I love the clock face. The silver keychain made from a silver-plate fork is for my granddaughter who will be getting her license soon.

DSCF1310 DSCF1308

 

 

