We’re all stumbling down the road called Experience, but it’s nice to know I’m in good company.

Jami Gray's Blog

mistakes

When I sat down to write my first story, I thought I was ready. I had created an interesting world, complex characters, and had a plot. What more could a writer ask for?

Answer: A crap ton more prep work and advice.

Here’s what I’ve learned through the creation process of two series:

  • World building is more than location
  • Complex characters have more sides than a D&D die
  • Plots are not simple lines
  • Learning from the advice of other writers is invaluable
  • I feel damn lucky I got published in the first place

Yep, you read that right, I count myself extremely lucky to have my writing published, because from where I started to now, is worlds apart. As I work on my new project, I give much thanks and offer many sacrifices of chocolate, coffee, and alcohol on my Alters to Editors and other Writers, for they have ensured…

View original post 603 more words

