IMG_0420.JPG.jpegThis has been a year I would not care to repeat. And it’s not over yet. My husband died in October of 2015. In April, I put the house on the market. We had lived in that big, old house for over 30 years. We raised our children there. We had talked about downsizing, especially after his health prevented him from giving it the attention it needed. It’s far too much for me to handle alone. So it wasn’t a hard decision.

Much to my surprise, it sold within the week. And I’ve been busy ever since. I bought a little house in the country across the pasture from my kids, and we’ve been working on it nonstop. They’ve put down tile, flooring, painted and helped me move. I would never have been able to do it without them.

In the meantime, my writing has suffered. Big time. When Daylon died, I was in the middle of edits on my latest book as well as working on a paranormal romance about a young boy growing up in the Texas hill country in the 60s and finishing my 3rd book in the It’s About Time series. Xander’s Tangled Web came out in late spring, but my other WIPs have been suffering.

Adjusting to my new life and trying to finish the house has taken up all my time and energy. On top of everything, I still work at a day job. Most evenings all I want to do is come home, take a hot soak and veg out in front of the television. Weekends have been filled with work on the house. That leaves no time for writing. And I hate that. Being a writer has been an outlet for me. In recent years it gave me something to focus on other than worrying about Daylon and allowed me to verbalize all the feelings I held inside. I could get on my soapbox, laugh or cry and come away feeling renewed. I miss it terribly. So I made up my mind not to waste any more time getting back to what I love.

First I had to get my computer off the rickety card table taking up space in the corner of my bedroom. I found the perfect armoire. As you can see, I’m still working on getting it right, but I love it. I have room for everything I need I plan to put bulletin boards inside the doors and cover them with writing prompts and ideas and pictures of my grandkids. I’ll hang framed covers of my published books on the wall to give me encouragement. The desk sits right beside my window and gives me a stunning view of the countryside.

It’s funny how getting your “space” together can make a difference. It does for me anyway. Scenarios for my next book are swirling around in my head, and the characters from my It’s About Time series have been tapping me on the shoulder, trying to get my attention. I’m stoked. It’s been ages since I felt this way! I’m ready to get started!

I’ll keep you posted.

