Tags

,

Here I am. It’s Sunday morning. After a year filled with life-changing events, it was my intention to spend the first weekend of the new year by putting my resolutions into effect. Getting organized, being productive, and specifically getting back to writing.

I had my to-do list ready. Saturday I planned to clean the closet in the spare bedroom and put away Christmas decorations, along with necessary evils like washing and housework. I wanted to everything looking especially nice because I planned to have a writer friend visit next Saturday. I intended to be very productive so I could spend all of today writing. That was the plan, anyway.

Sometime Friday night the temperature plunged into the ‘teens. This is my first winter here, and I couldn’t sleep for worrying because it’s up on pier and beam. Not that losing sleep made the slightest bit of difference. All the pipes froze anyway. No water for washing, cleaning or flushing. No water for cooking.

Still I tried to be productive and was even able to go down the road to my kids’ house to shower and get water, so it could have been much worse. But it didn’t keep me from getting frustrated. And before long, my energy level dipped along with the temperature. I could barely drag myself from one chore to another. I didn’t care whether I got a thing done. Maybe it was from lack of sleep.

This morning I even considered contacting my friend to postpone our visit . But I didn’t want to do that. This past year writing and things connected with it has taken a back seat to everything else going on in my life. Sometimes it was necessary. Sometimes I just didn’t have the energy to do it. And when I tried, too often I found myself floundering. I’ve been filled with self-doubt and reluctant to take a chance on anything.

Things need to change, and I’m trying, but it’s a slow process. It takes time to find a new normal, and patience is not one of my strong points. But I am stubborn. I won’t let myself give up.

(P.S. My water’s back on! The washer, the dryer and the dishwasher are humming away. I’m at my desk with a hot mug of tea, and I’m about to begin working on my time travel sequel. I know I  won’t get as far as I’d planned, but I’m going to make progress and that’s what counts.)

