img_0420-jpg

There have been some big changes in my life this past year. Good changes for the most part, but I’ve spent a lot of effort putting them into effect. By the time I sit down in front of the computer, I lack the time or energy to make any kind of progress. My writing has suffered.

It’s time to get back into it, and here’s my plan.

Stay active in a critique group. There’s nothing like interacting with fellow writers. They make me think about what I’ve written. They approach my writing with a fresh perspective. I may not always agree with what they say, but there are times when it leads me to the perfect solution.

Set aside time to write. My schedule has always been flexible and will be even more so shortly. It works best for me to plan to write several evenings a week and a few hours either Saturday or Sunday. The times and days are always subject to change depending on what else is going on in my life. Consistent progress adds up.

Blog on a regular basis. Write articles, do reviews. One of the things I do is Dinner and a Movie Monday bi-monthly. (review a movie and post a recipe). Blog swap with fellow authors. Mix it up. This spring I plan to showcase my friends and families’ talents (they are photographers, musicians, artists…what a creative bunch) and write about my travels.

Enter writing contests. Rising to the challenge to write something within someone else’s guidelines is good practice even when I don’t win.

Always have pencil and paper for notes. Because I won’t remember what I just heard or saw that simply has to be written into my next story.

I’ll think of other things once I get going. And when I do I’ll be glad to share. What’s important is to look until you find out what works for you and run with it. Keep your mind open so the creativity can flow.

Good luck!

