Tags

, , ,

brought to you by Anne Rothman-Hicks and Ken Hicks. They’ve visited my blog before and this time, we’re going to get to meet Alice.

anne-ken

Anne Rothman-Hicks and Kenneth Hicks have been collaborating on books for forty-six years.  Their first joint effort was a student project while Anne was at Bryn Mawr College and Ken attended Haverford. Since then, they have written over twenty books together. They live and work in New York City, where many of their books are set. They are members of International Thriller Writers and of the Society of Children’s Book Writers and Illustrators.

Ken and Anne’s mainstream novel, Kate and the Kid, was named one of the best Indie books for 2016 by Kirkus Reviews. Kirkus described it as an “engrossing romantic adventure” which “combines mystery and psychological drama in an intricate study of family relationships, economic class, and child abuse.”  Kate and the Kid also won a silver medal from Readers’ Favorite for books involving social issues.

Their Jane Larson series of mystery/thrillers involves a high-powered New York City attorney with a penchant for getting involved in situations that she would be better off leaving alone. These novels have been praised by reviewers for their gritty portrayals of city life, lively characters, fast action, surprise endings and highly polished prose. Jane is cynical and rebellious, but she finds herself drawn to the simple life her deceased mother lived as an attorney who served women unable to afford legal services. The first two books in the series are Weave A Murderous Web and Praise Her, Praise Diana, both published by Melange Books, LLC. A third novel, Mind Me, Milady, will be published in early 2017 by Melange.

Ken and Anne have also created a New York City based series for ‘tween readers, published by MuseItUp Publishing. These books feature the brother and sister combo of Jennifer and James and their friends Sleepy and Kaytlyn.  A talking pigeon lures them into their first adventure in Things Are Not What They Seem. The sequel, Remembering Thomas, will be published in 2017. It sends these young characters back to Revolutionary War battles that occurred in New York City during the fall of 1776.

Finally, Anne and Kenneth have written a series for middle readers in which the first book is Stone Faces, followed by Brownstone Faces and, soon, Splotch, published by MuseItUp. The main character in these three middle reader novels is Alice, and—you guessed it—she is a girl who lives in New York City.

You can read more about Anne and Ken’s books on their website

randh71productions.com and their blog at randh71productions.com/blog. They are now working on their next book, a family saga entitled Minister.

And now, sit back and enjoy Alice’s delightful interview!

brownstone-faces-2

Today we are going to interview Alice, who is the author and also the main character of a series of books she has written. She’s just eleven years old and has written two books already!

Us:  Well, the first thing we want to say is ‘welcome to the blog, Alice.’ We have never interviewed someone quite as young as you before.

Alice:  Don’t be nervous. I’ve never been interviewed by someone as old as you, either.

Us:  Thanks. I think … So, here’s the first question: when did you first think you wanted to become a writer?

Alice:  Actually, I hadn’t ever thought about it because I’m really into sports. All kinds of sports. I take after my daddy in that way. But then my parents decided to get divorced and I had the worst summer ever, and I just had to write about it to let other kids know that I got through it and they can too!

Us: That was very nice of you.

Alice: Thanks. But that doesn’t sound like a question. Am I supposed to respond or …

Us: No, no need to respond. It wasn’t a question. Sorry …

Alice: It’s okay. I know this is your first time interviewing a kid. Just relax.

Us:  Okay, Moving on … What was your first book called and what was it about?

Alice: The first book was called Stone Faces. I wanted to call it “The Worst Summer Ever”, but the grownups said Stone Faces was better. The stone faces belonged to my parents who were getting divorced and looked like their faces would crack when they tried to smile. Of course, I had a stone face too since I did not like them getting divorced. Not only that, the story takes place in Provincetown on Cape Cod, and the stones at the beach there became my friends.

Us:  Wait. Back up. You made friends with beach stones?

Alice: I guess you didn’t read my book, did you?

Excerpt from Brownstone Faces

On Friday, I’m allowed to walk home by myself. But Hannah had become like my shadow, so I walked home with her. She thanked me for what I did in the playground and said she was sorry that I had gotten punished for hitting Johnny. There was that word again.

“Hey, we’re the Sorry Club, remember?” I said. “And Mr. Sentry Man will be very pleased when I tell him what you did.”“Cut it out, Hannah,” I said.

Hannah looked surprised.

“But he will be. He already likes you. Didn’t you see him wink? He only winks at people he likes.”

“That was just a funny sort of shadow as I walked by,” I said. “Stone carvings aren’t alive and they don’t wink.”

Hannah just shrugged, her eyes fixed downward. This time a crack in the sidewalk had her attention.

“Would you like to meet a few more of my friends?” she asked finally.

I didn’t say “yes” because that would mean that I believed her and I was still pretty sure she was kidding. But I didn’t say “no” either and a few blocks further along she stopped in front of an old four-story apartment building. The carved head of a growling lion was set in the lintel over the front door.

“This is Lawrence,” Hannah said by way of introduction.

I decided to play along.

“Oh, I get it. Larry the Lion. Hello, Larry. I’m Alice.”

At that point Hannah flinched. 

Ken and Anne’s blog: http://www.randh71productions.com/blog

Ken and Anne’s Facebook Page: https://www.facebook.com/Kenneth-Hicks-and-Anne-Rothman-Hicks-622272714477979

Buy links for Brownstone Faces:

Muse: https://museituppublishing.com/bookstore/index.php/now-available-in-ebook/brownstone-faces-detail

Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/Brownstone-Faces-Alice-Friends-Book-ebook/dp/B01MT6HM7V

Ken and Anne, it was so good to have you visit again. Thanks so much for stopping by, guys. And Alice, I can’t wait to see what adventure you have next!

