Tags

, , , ,

sophie_and_the_rising_sun_headerLast weekend my sister and I took the chance on another movie we hadn’t seen advertised and didn’t know anything about.  It turned out to be a very good choice.

Sophie and the Rising Sun is a 2016 American film based on the 2001 novel of the same name. The film was released at Sundance Film Festival on January 25, 2017 by Monterey Media.

It opens in the autumn of 1941 in a small southern town. From the first scene I felt transported to Salty Creek, South Carolina. I could feel the cool air against my neck, bringing with it the rich smell of earth and subtle fragrance of hydrangeas and the sound of soft, southern voices rising and falling.

Sophie and the Rising Sun tells a compelling love story. Sophie, an artist who also fishes and sells crabs to the townsfolk, and an Asian stranger to town are swept up in the tides of history. Like all small towns, Salty Creek has it’s share of gossip. And people who are quick to judge, many while harboring their own dark secrets.

Mr. Ohta, appears in the town badly beaten and under mysterious circumstances. Sophie, a native of Salty Creek, quickly becomes transfixed by him and a friendship born of their mutual love of art blossoms into a delicate and forbidden courtship.

After Pearl Harbor is bombed, a surge of misguided patriotism, bigotry and violence sweeps through the town, threatening Mr. Ohta’s life. A trio of women, each with her own secrets – Sophie, along with the town matriarch and her housekeeper risk their lives to protect him.

 

Crab Cakes

~Crab Cakes~

  1. 1.  In a large bowl, combine 1/3 cup bread crumbs, green onions, red pepper, egg, mayonnaise, lemon juice, garlic powder and cayenne; fold in crab.
  2. 2. Place remaining bread crumbs in a shallow bowl. Divide mixture into eight portions; shape into 2-in. …
  3. 3.  In a large nonstick skillet, heat butter over medium-high heat  – Serve hot and enjoy!

Note: Once again, I feel the need to apologize to my readers. When I retired the end of January, my intention was to post on my blog at least once a week. But the past few months have been even busier than expected. My time has been split between things I need to do (get my finances in order, finish the house remodel and landscape the yard) and things I want to do (attend critique meetings, spend time with friends and family and get ready for a new grandchild)

Soon things will change. Texas summer weather will be here. Heat and humidity. For me, it means hiding inside the house with a tall glass of iced tea and spending my time writing. Maybe I’ll get caught up. Fingers crossed.

 

